Möbius
Premium User
Premium User

Ten Reasons To Get Linux

Post by Möbius »

Why switch to Linux from Windows?

Here is my take on it.
:thumbup:

Linux, love it or hate it? Getting to know it could be THE big game changer some day in the future, when your old laptop/desk-top gives up the ghost and wheezes out, trying to use Windows 10, or before it becomes a 7 dinosaur fossil on your book shelf. :(

Linux is different. Very, very different. But before you know it it becomes very, VERY easy.
For those that have a fairly decent attention span, you will find that with today’s Linux can be used out of the box and just as easily as any Windows OS machine ever produced and even out there on the market today.

I am NO EXPERT in this field by any means, only an advocate of this ever growing powerful and rich type of OS, one that I never really had time for up until about four months ago.
I was a fool to underestimate it's power prior to trying it out and I would be foolish to say that ignoring it is a clever idea. The ignorant "don’t bother" squad have a right to free speech too, but don't let them put you off. Give it a damn good try. I am sure you will be very surprised how good it is without spending a bundle of cash on apps, software and security.

I'm not going to advocate any particular flavour of the many Linux based systems, but merely hint that something based on Ubuntu 14.04 is pretty stable and mainstream and it should work on almost any of the machines made up to approx 10 years old, possibly older, AND give good graphics, good sound and good connectivity to the net.

I am not trying to change the world or even my favourite website here, which, for years, has and still is very Windows focused. But.....